Retrospect Exhibit at Thayer Gallery

October 13, 2016 § 2 Comments

ingemanson_thayer-postcard-2016fb

Opening Reception: Thursday October 13, 2016 from 6 to 8pm

Thayer Art Gallery at Thayer Academy-located in the lower level of Thayer’s Southworth Library  745 Washington St. Braintree, MA  02184

Thayer Gallery Hours:  Mon-Fri|8am-3pm (when school is in session)  During regular hours the gallery is locked-for access call security 617.371.5217

Illustrations by Donna Ingemanson and installation by Charlotte Nickerson.

Illustrations by Donna Ingemanson and installation by Charlotte Nickerson.

This exhibit highlights my career as an illustrator and artist in a timeline with personal selections of art and licensed products.  Current pieces include digital, painting, mixed media and monotype printmaking.

Throughout my artistic career it has always been a journey of exploration and expansion. For years, as a student, designer, art director, illustrator and simply as an artist, my objectives always seemed like I was climbing to reach a goal, whether it was to perfect my skills, succeed at commercial assignments, run a solo business and, most importantly, enjoy the time allotted to me on this planet. My aspirations seemed to segue from one desire to the next while moving forward and still using strengths that I had learned in the past.

mixed media pieces 2016

mixed media pieces 2016

As an artist it seems like there’s always a bit of discontent and a desire to somehow make something better. There are so many masterful artists from the past and the present that it’s easy to become discouraged. In my mind I try to see the beauty in other art pieces and use it for inspiration in my own work.

Exhibiting my artwork is new for me as I have always been too busy creating art for corporate projects, editorial pieces and licensing to have time to get my work physically out into the world. This exhibit is a selection of pieces from the past 20 years that starts with the ‘Studio Wall’ which is a display of how assignments start with sketches and finished art and then translate to tangible products. Many of my newer pieces are still being licensed along with a large library of past art images.

So as I continue on my artistic path of discovery and creation right now I am taking the time to pause and reflect on the steps that have brought me to this moment.

-Donna Ingemanson October 2016

Special Thanks to Karen Koskores, Charlotte Nickerson and Image Resolutions.

§ 2 Responses to Retrospect Exhibit at Thayer Gallery

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Retrospect Exhibit at Thayer Gallery at donna ingemanson studio.

meta

