’tis the season…

December 9, 2011 § 1 Comment

Recent monotype inspired by 'orange'.

Lately I’ve been exploring and experimenting with more intuitive and improvisational pieces in the printmaking studio.  My goal is to present the viewer with ideas that inspire their own stories that resonate within.  The challenge is figuring out the puzzle of composition, scale, color and texture.

My first figure scuplture.

For the past couple of months I participated in a figurative sculpture class taught by Dan Myers.  Since many of the masters like Degas, Gauguin, Michelangelo, Picasso, etc. all dabbled in sculpture I thought there must be something to it.  Dan was adamant about sticking to the traditional aspects of creating the figure to exacting proportions so as to learn the basics of creating a maquette.  This piece is approximately 18″ if she stood up.  It still needs to be fired and hopefully glazed.  It was very relaxing to work with clay although it can also be frustrating to get the proportions and details all in sync.  There’s an inspiring book entitled Matisse painter as sculptor that shows how the artist made the departure from realism and developed his own personal style.  I had no idea that Matisse was also a sculpture instructor-I would LOVE to have taken that class.

Currently there are two worthy exhibits that include sculpture that will have you thinking about giving this art form a whirl. They  are the Degas and the Nude and the Aphrodite and the Gods of Love-both at the MFA.

Recent acquisition of beautifully created cups by Ann Schunior.

This is my favorite time of year to visit all my favorite haunts, open studios and holiday sales in the local creative community to see what’s new.    My friend, Ann Schunior, works diligently to maintain a career as a potter.  She’s so dedicated to her craft and really puts out a great product.  Her final open studio for purchases is this Saturday.  It’s very rewarding to support local talent.  The cups I purchased above (actually one was on the ‘free’ table) remind me of fine Japanese stoneware that sells for very high prices in Japan where the culture holds their potters in high esteem-as it should be!  There’s one more cup that I left behind that’s a masterpiece (in my mind).  Ask Ann about it-maybe it’s still there…

Pottery forms and glazes have influenced my art in many ways and I’m always inspired by the craft.

my cups by Lisa Howard.

These are two gems that I picked up at Local Pottery.  Lisa made a pilgrimage to Japan this year and you can definitely see the influence in her new pieces.  Visit her studio sale-definintely worth the trip!

Tomorrow I’m psyched to go on my ‘Annual Holiday Stomp’!  Here’s my agenda-starting with the SOWA Holiday Market-they have free parking at 540 and 500 Harrison Ave. Boston.  Then on to Cambridge for the Cambridge Adult Ed. Holly Fair and the Harvard Square Holiday Fair.  Lunch at  Cafe of India and hot chocolate at L.A. Burdick.  Finish off the day by visiting the Cambridge Artists’ Cooperative.  Shop Creatively-Shop Local!

§ One Response to ’tis the season…

  • robdunlavey says:

    You have a nice newsletter Donna. You inspired me to look up that Japanese Tea show at the MFA (I just read a book by Bernard Leach on this subject “Kenzan and His Tradition”) AND try to get to Burdicks very very soon.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading ’tis the season… at donna ingemanson studio.

meta

